Everybody Wants To Be Something [Special]

With upwards of six billion people on this planet, it’s hard to imagine that one individual is really worth something special. We are told by our parents, teachers, and occasionally our friends that we are unique, there is no one like us on the planet! Even in all the history of humankind? Really? But God must have run out of ideas for personality/looks combos!

Everybody wants to be special; to think that they are worthy of the love given them by family, friends and God. (Maybe that’s why a lot of people can’t love God? They don’t want to be in debt with God for something. Hm, that’s ironic.)

The internet is a haven for those people. When I look at some of the pictures on Facebook, I really notice this. There are so many pictures of people just posing like models, or in some crazy fashion, wanting to be noticed by someone. “See? I am beautiful.”

I think I want to disband Facebook.

I don’t really know where I’m going with this, but I’m getting tired of all this fakeness. Because it really feels fake to me. Maybe it’s not, for a lot of people, but it’s nothing but fake to me.

I’m even frustrated by this blog, because it’s my attempt to be special when there are thousands of blogs on the internet.. what makes this one any special? What’s my purpose for this blog? For me, writing my thoughts, for my friends to read and know me a little more, or for everyone else to think that I am special?

When it all comes to the end, we are only special because God loves us. Why does He love us? “Not because of who I am, but because of what You’ve done, Not because of what I’ve done, but because of who You are” (Casting Crowns, “Who Am I?”)

*loves God!*

Leave a Reply

