The Starting Point

The 10 commandments. The most important being, as Jesus said, to love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul and mind. The second being, love your neighbour as yourself. All the law and prophets hang on these two commands. It’s been noted that if you keep these commandments, then every other law will be kept. If you love your fellow men, you won’t covet what they have. If you love God, you won’t give His glory to anything else.

The Question: Do I really love God?

The Terrible Answer: Not these days.

Recently, I listened to a sermon about “God on the Throne” from Walk in the Word (a really great resource for my spiritual journey – James MacDonald is really passionate about God!), where MacDonald talked about God’s throne in heaven: what it looks like, and how we should relate to it, using Isaiah 6 and Ezekiel 1 as references. Wow.

The only appropriate response is to fall as quickly to the ground as possible. How can I stand up under so much glory and holiness? It’s beyond words can describe.

And I’ve forgotten the absolute, ultimate majesty of God! I’ve been walking around with my head up high, the greatest thing since sliced bread. How dare I have such pride?

Put God first. He not only demands it, He deserves it.

I’ve been reading “True Spiritualily” by Francis A. Schaeffer, and the first chapter was about The Law and the Law of Love: a strong reminder for my inward life to be set upon the right priorities, then my outward life can show the true grace of God. Put my heart before God, face-to-floor, where I belong.

Leave a Reply

