Happy Mother’s Day!

When I was growing up, my sisters and I would make Breakfast in Bed for la mere, surprise her with the Spice Girls’ song, “Mama” and some delicious apple pancakes! And then she would get up, go outside do some work on the yard while we played video games inside. Or homework (koffkoff!). 

Now that I’m an adult and living across a country and ocean (Canada and the Pacific), it’s hard for me to do something for her. I’m terrible at sending packages on time! The last Christmas package I sent was maybe two weeks late! 

My mom has such a strong spirit. I know that she could not have done what she has done in my life and hers without this strength from God (thanks, God!). Her father died in a car accident when she was 16. Her husband died when her children were so young. She raised three young girls through some of the toughest years of their lives (a.k.a. the teenage years!). She didn’t get married again, and showed her strength and independence which I really admire. She leaned on the church when it was really tough. I saw that and learned to rely on my Christian brothers and sisters in my life. 

God has placed His hand on my life, and a large part of my life is of course the impact of the relationship I have with my mother. When I think of everything we have been through, separately and together, I am amazed that God has not only not forgotten us, but has given us His Spirit so that we can grow in Him, and love and honour Him with our lives. Not by strength, not by power, but by the LORD’s Spirit is how we have survived our lives!

Leave a Reply

