He prepares a table for me in the presences of my enemies

There are people I prefer not to communicate with, people I don’t like, people who irritate me, and I’m can only expect the opposite. Not everyone can like me. (Why do I expect that they do?)

A lot of the people in the Bible had great enemies — Jacob, Elijah, David, and especially Jesus. They lived lives so close to God, in such strong relationships with Him that many people hated them and wanted them dead.

If that’s a consequence of being a Christian, shouldn’t I also have enemies? I know of people in the past who don’t like be because I am a Christian. Maybe I just don’t want to call people enemies? Or, that’s the result of living in mainly Christian environments for most of my life. So now, working at Washington among all non-Christians, I should meet some people who hate Christians. Which is kind of scary. I don’t want people to hate me.

“But God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (Psalm 73)

Leave a Reply

