future..

Since yesterday, I’ve been thinking a lot about my future. I just signed a two-year contract at the school I’ve been working at for the past two years (almost ^^) and it’s kind of freaky. Two years is a long time, yet, it’ll be over quickly, especially looking back at how fast the past two years have gone by.

Anyway, what are my plans for the future?

There are a couple things that I want to do with my life. I want to work in an orphanage, I want to become fluent in Japanese, and do some translating… there was a third, but I forget now. Oh well.

Not five minutes ago (ok, maybe 15) I had a short conversation with Co-Worker Yuka, and she strongly encouraged me to think about a career. What am I going to do? I can’t stay at Washington for ever. She mentioned going back to school to study child care, and that really strikes a chord with me. When I was in high school, I was a camp counsellor for a couple weeks one summer, and that was a lot of fun. I’ve always wanted to go back to camp. And with a child care degree, I could work in orphanages around the world. I also want to help poor people improve their quality of life.

But.

What are God’s plans? Are our plans the same? Are our plans and what’s actually going to happen the same? There’s no way to know, is there, except through hindsight.

In the short term, because I signed the two year contract, I’m thinking of some things I want to change in my life.
1-A) It would be nice to move to a new apartment. Maybe not logical, or possible, but I’m nibbling around the edges of this idea.
1-B) I also wanna get rid of a lot of crap in my house. I have a printer and no computer. I have a lot of stuff that I need to take to Hard Off. Hopefully I can get there soon…
2) I would also like to buy a computer, either new or used. Most likely used. So I can have skype and call friends & family in Canada more often. If I buy an iPhone, please shoot me.

Uh, yeah, that’s basically it.

Anyway, the big news is that I signed a two year contract, so I’ll be here in Kumamoto for awhile yet. Feel free to come visit me any time!

Leave a Reply

