#10 &#17: Make bread by hand & Make jam

On my Christmas vacation, I had a lot of time at home, so I planned to do a lot of cooking. Two of the items on my To Do List include making bread by hand (anyways, I don’t have a bread maker!) and make jam. My mom sent me some certo for my birthday, so I could make the BEST kind of jam ever! (yeah, shameless plug for Certo, I know, but this jam is sooo good!)

I LOVE cheese bread, and I haven’t found a good loaf of it in Japan so far, so I decided to make it myself. At first I thought it was too salty, but I changed my mind after a few slices. The bread was really easy to make. There were only five ingredients: flour (1 kg!), yeast, salt, cheese, and water. Kneading the bread was my favourite part. Mindless work that keeps my hands busy. It was reminiscent of when I worked at Muskoka Heritage Place, and one day I was in the Darling House (where they explain about the process of knitting and laundry) and I was sitting there, oh, maybe for an hour, knitting on a very quiet day. I was so absorbed in what I was doing and my thoughts, it was very intense. I was snapped out of my reverie, however, when someone made a call on the radio.

HOW I WILL ADAPT THE BREAD IN THE FUTURE
This bread easily made two loaves, and that’s a lot of bread for one person, so I can separate it into three or four loaves. Maybe the tops won’t burn then. Also, I can give some away! Also, I want to try chunks of cheese. I grated the cheese into really small pieces, and it’s good, but it’s not quite the same.

And the jam. My grandma used to make this jam. It’s so simple to make: all you need are strawberries, certo, and sugar. And a bit of lemon juice. The only thing is that my jam didn’t set. It hardened a little, but it’s a mixture between kakigori sauce and jam. It’s delicious! But too runny. And I was talking to my mom, she said that happens sometimes (my mom also makes this jam every spring.. or almost every spring ^^ or used to. whatever!), and there’s not much you can do. But it’s bothering me, because I want it to set! And I don’t know how to fix it. Gah!

Eating these two together is SO delicious. I am very happy. ^^

Leave a Reply

